







## **MINUTES**

## ICEMA MEDICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

**February 23, 2023** 

1300

AGENDA ITEM		DISCUSSION/FOLLOW UP	RESPONSIBLE PERSON(S)
I.	Welcome/Introductions	Meeting was called to order at 1301	Seth Dukes
II.	Approval of Minutes	The December 15, 2022, minutes were approved.	
		Motion to approve. MSC: Michael Neeki/Steve Patterson APPROVED AYES: Phong Nguyen, Debbie Bervel, Seth Dukes, Michael Neeki, Kenneth Fox, Troy Pennington, Lisa Davis, Steven Patterson, Susie Moss, Amanda Ward, Jessica Wagner, Craig Bell, Brian Savino, Joy Peters, Kevin Dearden, Lance Brown	
III.	Discussion/Action Items		
111.	A. Standing EMS System Updates		
	<ol> <li>Trauma Program</li> <li>STEMI Program</li> <li>Stroke Program</li> </ol>	No updates. STEMI and Stroke Summit will be June 27 <sup>th</sup> & 28 <sup>th</sup> . The flyer was sent out and posted on ICEMA website.	Loreen Gutierrez
	B. HEMS Utilization Task Force	HEMS met yesterday. The topic of destination determinations was discussed. The process for hospital rotation for airship destination needs to be reevaluated.	Stephen Patterson
	C. Prehospital Ultrasound Trial Study Update	70 scans were submitted, and the majority were good quality and interpreted correctly. Will review the data to continue pilot or recommend adding to scope of practice. Report to EMSA is due this year.	Michael Neeki

	D. Inyo/ Mono County Updates  E. Chair/Member Endorsements	Symons Ambulance will no longer be a provider in the Inyo/Mono area. ICEMA and the state are working on solutions. Paramedic staff are back to full-time.  Member endorsements for the Trauma Program Manager position were presented. Tonya Henkes was approved to hold the position.  MSC: Michael Neeki/ Phong Nguyen APPROVED  AYES: Phong Nguyen, Debbie Bervel, Seth Dukes, Michael Neeki, Kenneth Fox, Troy Pennington, Lisa Davis, Steven Patterson, Susie Moss, Amanda Ward, Jessica Wagner, Craig Bell, Brian Savino, Joy Peters, Kevin Dearden, Lance Brown	Lisa Davis/ Jessica Wagner  Loreen Gutierrez
	F. Protocol Review  8050 – Requests for Hospital Diversion and Ambulance Redirection 8100- Ambulance Patient Offload Delay (APOD)	Policy changes were reviewed for the next manual update.  Policy 8050 and 8100 were discussed. Motion to change criteria for ambulance redirection from 30 minutes to 25 minutes.  MSC: Susie Moss/ Michael Neeki APPROVED AYES: Phong Nguyen, Debbie Bervel, Seth Dukes, Michael Neeki, Kenneth Fox, Troy Pennington, Lisa Davis, Steven Patterson, Susie Moss, Jessica Wagner, Craig Bell, Brian Savino, Joy Peters, Kevin Dearden, Lance Brown ABSTAIN: Amanda Ward	Loreen Gutierrez/Michelle Hatfield
IV	Public Comment Period	Discussed if ICEMA is interested in a bupropion pilot study. Carly Cripe/Redlands Fire Department will be added to an interest list. Discussion on possible automation for TOC in First Watch, research is needed to answer- Shawn Reynolds.	All
V	Future Agenda Items	No recommendations.	
VI.	Next Meeting Date	April 27, 2023	
VII.	Adjournment	Meeting was adjourned at 1450	
VIII.	Closed Session		

A. Case Reviews	
B. Loop Closure Cases	

## Attendees:

NAME	MAC POSITION		IS AGENCY AFF	POSITION
<ul><li>☑ P. Brian Savino -</li><li>LLUMC</li><li>☐ Brandon Woodward -</li><li>ARMC</li></ul>	Trauma Hospital Physicians (2)		Reza Vaezazizi, MD	Medical Director
☐ Melanie Randall - LLUMC	Pediatric Critical Care Physician		Demis Cano	EMS Specialist
<ul><li>☑ Phong Nguyen - RDCH</li><li>☐ VACANT</li></ul>	Non-Trauma Base Physicians (2)	$\boxtimes$	Loreen Gutierrez	Specialty Care Coordinator
<ul><li>□ VACANT</li><li>⊠ Michael Neeki - Rialto FD</li></ul>	Non-Base Hospital Physician Public Transport Medical Director		Jeff Copeland Michelle Hatfield	Sr. EMS Specialist EMS Specialist
Seth Dukes - AMR	Private Transport Medical Director			
	Fire Department Medical Director			
<ul><li>✓ Joy Peters - ARMC</li><li>✓ Leslie Parham - Chino</li><li>Valley FD</li></ul>	EMS Nurses Representative EMS Officers Representative			
	Public Transport Medical Representative (Paramedic/RN)			
⊠ Susie Moss - AMR	Private Transport Medical Representative (Paramedic/RN)			
<ul><li>☑ Lance Brown - LLUMC</li><li>☐ Sharon Brown - SMMC</li></ul>	Specialty Center Medical Director Specialty Center Coordinator			
□ Troy Pennington - Mercy     Air	Private Air Transport Medical Director			
	Public Air Transport Medical Director			
<ul><li>☑ Debbie Bervel</li><li>☑ Lisa Davis - Sierra Lifeflight</li></ul>				
<ul><li>☑ Jessica Wagner</li><li>☐ Tonya Henkes</li></ul>	Mono County Representative Trauma Program Manager Representative			
☑ Amanda Ward - Crafton Hills	EMT-P Training Program Representative			
<ul><li>☑ Kenneth Fox</li><li>☑ Craig Bell</li></ul>	Public Safety Field Paramedic Private Transport Field Paramedic			
☐ VACANT	ICEMA Medical Director			

Appointee